The "Great Whales"
The "Great Whales" is a generic term given by commercial whalers for the worlds large whales. Because of their size, these whales were commercially attractive. The term includes the five most common whales in the Antarctic -
IWC Common name (English) Scientific name
Blue whale Balaenoptera musculus
Humpback whale Megaptera novaeangliae
Fin Whale Balaenoptera physalus
Sei whale Balaenoptera borealis
Sperm Whale Physeter macrocephalus

Seven other whales are also considered "Great Whales" -
IWC Common name (English) Scientific name
Greenland right whale or Bowhead Balaena mysticetus
North Atlantic right whale Eubalaena glacialis
North Pacific right whale  Eubalaena sieboldii
Southern right whale Eubalaena australis
Gray whale Eschrichtius robustus
Bryde's whale Balaenoptera edeni
Minke whale Balaenoptera acutorostrata

All but the Humpback and the Sperm whale are baleen whales. The Sperm whale is the largest toothed whale.